I’v been kinda busy lately, but I managed to watch a movie or two that didn’t put me to sleep, and I just had to write something about this one: Farewell

Pay no attention to the name. It kinda sounds like a weepy love story, but it has nothing to do with that, though there is some boy/girl stuff in there. No, Farewell is possibly the best spy movie evar!  And it’s a true story.

I can’t really go into the details much without giving away some spoilers, so I’ll just say it’s a real pot-boiler. There’s almost no action to speak of, but the suspense and pucker factor more than makes up for that. Suffice it to say that it’s a story about the early days of the downfall of the Soviet Union, and how it came about. It’s fascinating from start to finish.

I don’t watch a lot of sub-titled movies, and there’s no actors that I recognized except for a couple of brief appearances by Willem Dafoe. Quelle surprise! Pardon my French, if that’s what that was.

If  you have Netflix, you can watch it right now on streaming, or whatever they call it.

Go watch it. Watch it twice.

